Current opportunities to join our faculty. Learn more



Governance Structure

Administrative Support and Reporting

The Council’s formation is supported by Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing administration.  The Council’s authority is advisory only.  The Council communicates with administration as needed and provides a report to the entire faculty statewide at our annual Fall Faculty Meeting.  An annual budget of $3,000 for the Special Projects Initiatives has been approved and is outlined below.


Membership is currently composed of faculty, staff and students from three campuses.  Members may self-nominate or volunteer to serve on the Council based on interest in sustainable practices and health.  Term duration is set at four years with an optional second term.  Council members will meet via zoom and decisions are made through consensus.

Member Values

  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Confidentiality
  • Integrity
  • Active Participation
  • Accountability

Council Operations

The CON’s first Sustainability Committee meeting was held in September 2016 as an open meeting.  Members were encouraged to invite students who might be interested in joining the newly formed Council.  Meetings occur monthly and as needed for projects/ongoing discussion.  Meetings will be virtual to accommodate all campuses.  The Chair prepares and distributes an agenda prior to each scheduled meeting.  Members work on projects in small groups and report back to the Council with updates.  The Council agenda, meeting announcements and minutes will be available through a Sustainability link on the Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing website.  Meetings are announced via email.  Decision-making is accomplished through discussion and consensus. 

A yearly financial commitment to sustainability in the Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing awards $3000 (since 2018) to fund the “Sustainability Service Project” initiative.  Proposals should reflect the College’s commitment to sustainability, particularly promoting healthy environments and material management. Funds may be used to augment current projects or launch a new initiative. While there is no limit to the amount of funding that can be requested, our preference is to fund several small projects rather than one or two larger projects.  Student engagement at some level is required.  Other monies are provided as needed basis(eg. book purchase for committee members, conferences).  The charter will be reviewed annually.

Charter Members: 2019-2020

Marianne Adam,  Associate Teaching Professor, Schuylkill 
Barbara Deffenbaugh, Administrative Support Assistant, UP
Darlene Clark, Assistant Teaching Professor, Council Chair, UP
Kristal Hockenberry, Simulation Lab Coordinator/Nursing Instructor, UP
Brenda Holtzer,  Associate Teaching Professor,  Abington
Erin Kitt-Lewis, Assistant Research Professor, UP
Janet Knott, Assistant Teaching Professor, New Kensington
Erica Husser, Project Director
Kelly Snyder, sophomore nursing student
Elise Krikorian, senior nursing student
Emily Olivier, junior nursing student


Nese College of Nursing named a National League for Nursing Center of Excellence