Current opportunities to join our faculty. Learn more


Paula Milone-Nuzzo Nursing Alumni Volunteer of the Year Award

This award, established in 2018, is presented annually by the Penn State Nursing Alumni Society to an alumnus/alumna who has provided outstanding volunteer service to the Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing. Volunteer service can be in the areas of mentoring students, board and council service, serving as a preceptor for students enrolled in any education program in the Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing, etc.


1. Must be a graduate of The Pennsylvania State University Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing.
2. Must have outstanding volunteer service to the Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing.

Submit a Nomination

If you wish to submit a nomination, please complete the Nomination Form by Friday, January 17, 2025.

Nomination materials must include the following in order to be considered complete:

  1. Nominee name, email, graduation year, job title, business/organization
  2. Name and email address of a reference that could discuss the nominee’s qualifications for this award if contacted
  3. Rationale for the nomination in 500 words or less explaining:
    • how the nominee has the potential to significantly impact the nursing profession.
    • how the nominee demonstrates exemplary professional practice.
    • how the nominee demonstrates the ability to advocate on behalf of the nursing profession and the be interest of the community.
  4. Link to nominee’s LinkedIn profile, if applicable
  5. Optional: Information supporting the nominee’s outstanding qualities (news articles, research articles, CV/resume, awards, etc.). This is not intended to be a letter of support.

If you would like to submit the nominee’s resume/CV and other additional supporting materials (research/news articles, additional awards, volunteer experiences, etc.) or have any questions about the nomination process, please email

Nomination Deadline: Friday, January 17, 2025

Past Recipients

2023 – Lauren Thumm ’08

2023 – Gail Latimer ’83

2022 – Wendy Forrest Edgar ’92

2020 – Joelyn Niggel ’74

2019 – Jennifer Sprankle ’92


Nese College of Nursing named a National League for Nursing Center of Excellence