Current opportunities to join our faculty. Learn more


External Awards for Faculty

American Association of Colleges of Nursing

Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Award

Innovations in Professional Nursing Education Awards

Outstanding Dissertation and DNP Project Awards

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Excellence Award

Gerontological Society of America

Douglas Holmes Award

Recognizes research with potential to improve quality of life and/or quality of care in long-term care and is intended to encourage and support innovative and promising research across long-term care settings (i.e., nursing home, hospice, assisted living, adult day, or home and community based care). The award will be presented to the author(s) of the winning paper at GSA’s Annual Scientific Meeting at the RESQCARE Interest Group Meeting.

Who is Eligible

Applicants must be a current ESPO member of GSA.
Eligibility is limited to those who are no more than 5 years post-doctorate by the final submission deadline.

List of Specific Criteria

Applicants must submit an abstract for the GSA’s Annual Scientific Meeting.
The abstract must be accepted for the meeting.
The student must present at GSA’s Annual Scientific Meeting.
Once accepted, applicants must submit a paper from the accepted abstract by the deadline.
The winning paper will be selected by a combined ESPO and RESQCARE review panel.
The winner(s) will be expected to give a short synopsis of their paper at the RESQCARE Interest Group Meeting at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting.

Website Link

Health Sciences Research Award

The Health Sciences Research Award is given to a new investigator in the Health Sciences Section. The award is designed to encourage postdoctoral research and encourage participation in the Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting.

Who is Eligible

Applicants must be a member of the Health Sciences section.
Applicants must be new investigators who have received a doctoral degree within the past seven (7) years. Interested Health Sciences Section students, trainees, fellows and junior faculty must submit an abstract for the Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting. Once the abstract has been accepted, a 1,500-word paper by the trainee (describing the research) should be submitted by the deadline below. The award is made on the basis of the paper.

National League for Nursing

The NLN Mary Adelaide Nutting Award

Recognizes an individual who demonstrates outstanding teaching, contributes as a leader in nursing education, encourages creative interactions with students from diverse backgrounds, mentors and serves as a role model for junior faculty, publishes scholarly works that advance nursing education knowledge or provides support for educational levels where they are engaged.

Nomination form –

The NLN Isabel Hampton Robb Award

Recognizes an individual who inspires passion for clinical nursing, Promotes evidence-based practice by building practice-education partnerships, Encourages clinical expertise and inter-professional practice, Challenges students to expand their clinical knowledge base in innovative ways, Conducts scholarly research to assess learning outcomes that improve patient care, Fosters development of clinical reasoning in the culture of patient care

Nomination form –

NLN Lillian Wald Humanitarian Award

Recognizes an individual who Meets the ethical responsibilities of the nursing profession in keeping with the NLN core values of caring, integrity, diversity, and excellence, Cares for others above and beyond their roles regardless of personal risk or compensation, Embraces common moral decencies such as altruism, integrity, freedom, justice, honesty, truthfulness, responsibility, and compassion, Respects and values human diversity

Nomination form –


Nese College of Nursing named a National League for Nursing Center of Excellence