Select Page

Shirley Novosel Distinguished Nursing Alumni Award

This award was established in 1996 in memory of Shirley Leister Novosel ’79, a past president of the Penn State Nursing Alumni Affiliate Program Group (APG), who passed away in 1994. It is presented annually by the Penn State Nursing Alumni Society to recognize an alumnus/alumna who exemplifies the spirit of nursing and the Penn State College of Nursing’s ideals and philosophy.

The nomination period for the 2018 award is now open.  If you know a graduate who demonstrates a caring, professional style and commitment to the nursing profession, please submit a nomination on his or her behalf.  The nominee must be able to attend the awards luncheon in State College on Saturday, March 30, 2019.


  • Must be a graduate of the Penn State College of Nursing
  • May not be a current board member or officer of the Nursing Alumni Society
  • Must demonstrate a caring, professional style and commitment to the nursing profession
  • Must be currently active in the profession

Submit a Nomination

If you wish to nominate an alumnus/alumna for this award, please complete the online nomination form.

Nominations must be received by February 1, 2018.

Questions? Please contact Lois Thompons,

Past Winners

2018 Diana Morris
2016 Carolyn Castor Garver
2015 Virginia L. Rayburn
2014 Valerie K. Sabol
2013 Pamela Zenz Adamshick
2012 Kathleen Mastrian
2011 Donna Zazworsky
2010 Carolee Polek
2008 Ivy Alexander
2006 Nancy Pike, Linda Siminerio
2005 Elisabeth George, Gail Latimer
2004 Arlene Butz
2002 Deborah Preston
2001 Linda Frank
2000 Janet McMahon
1999 Tara Stevenson Baney, Joyce Kantner
1998 Sue Rokita
1997 Constance Mosier